Advanced Safe Management

Safes that are created in the PVWA are based on properties specified in a Safe Template. Users who have the Manage Safe permission in the Safe can modify some of the Safe properties that can be updated in the PVWA. This section describes the properties that can be changed in the PrivateArk Administrative Client. The tasks described In this section are for advanced management and configuration, and are rarely used.

Create Safes

When you create a Safe, you determine how the files in it will be stored, accessed, and categorized. At any time after a Safe has been created, you can modify the Safe property settings.

Different configurations influence the way you can work with the Safe. For example, you can configure a Safe for Sharing, which mean that it  can be accessed through a variety of applications through the Password Vault Web Access.

A new Safe is defined in the New Safe window. The first tab is mandatory, although every other tab contains default settings which you can accept as your own.

Update Safe properties

If you have the Manage Safe authorization, you can modify the properties of an existing Safe.

Rename a Safe

You can rename an existing Safe. This doesn't affect the contents of the Safe in any way.

 

A Safe can be renamed even though other users might have files in the workspace. However, when the user logs on or off from the PrivateArk Client, a message box will appear to tell him that the files cannot be returned to the Safe, and to enable him to save the files in a new location.

Delete a Safe

The Safe and its files can be deleted from a Vault. However, you can only do this after the version retention period has expired for all files.

 

You cannot recover a deleted Safe, so make sure that you will not need any passwords or files that are stored in it.

For more information about Safe ownership, refer to Safe Members.

Open the Safe

After you log onto the Vault, the Safes that you are authorized to access appear in the Working Area. You are a Safe Owner of these Safes.

Safe Owners are users who have the authority to enter the Safe and work with passwords and files in the Safe or make changes to the Safe itself. Authorizations may vary according to the settings of each Safe Owner. For a complete list of Safe Owner rights, refer to Safe Members.

A Safe Filter box enables the user to filter ‘his’ Safes and display a group of Safes, rather than all of them at the same time. The filter box displays all the locations that the user has access to, in addition to locations that contain Safes which the user owns. By selecting a location, the user can view the Safes in that location and its sublocations.

To begin working with the files in the Safe, open the Safe and then enter to display the files inside.

Display Safes by location

The Safes you own are displayed automatically when you log onto the Vault. The Safe Filter enables you to display Safes that have been created under a specific location, and therefore reduces the number of Safes that appear on your screen.

Confirmation to enter the Safe

You might not have the authority to open a particularly secure Safe until you receive “clearance” from one or more of the Safe’s Owners. The Requests icons on the side of your screen will indicate when clearance has been requested, and when you have permission to enter the Safe.

For more information, refer to Dual Control

Enter the Safe only at specific times

Another security feature prevents Safes from being opened except at certain times (e.g., 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.). If you try to enter at a time that has not been designated for access, you will receive a message that informs you that the Safe is unavailable.

Close a Safe

When you close a Safe, all retrieved files that are in the PrivateArk Workspace are returned automatically to the Safe. It is important to close the Safe after you’ve finished working with your files to prevent them from being left outside the Vault where they are not secure. Files that are in use by another application cannot be returned until they are closed.

Inspect Safe activity

Whenever necessary, you can view records of all Safe activity. This includes the activities of all Users or each individual User. The Safe activity window displays the names of the Users who have handled files, when, and for what purpose.

For instance, a manager at a large firm can view the activity of everyone who has opened a Safe or the Safe activity for an individual employee.

The Safe activity window can be displayed whether the Safe is opened or closed.

Clear Safe history

Periodically, you need to clear the Safe history to avoid unnecessarily long lists and confusion. Only file versions and Safe history logs that have been held for longer than the time specified in the Safe Properties History window can be deleted.

The PrivateArk Client reminds you to clear expired Safe history on a regular basis when you log on to the Safe, by displaying the following message.

safeClearHistory

However, your System Administrator can make this action automatic so that expired history is cleared regularly without displaying this message window.

Alerts

Alerts indicate the type of activity that has happened using an account.

 
TruePrivileged Access Security11.4